oppn parties JNU Violence: What The English Language Dailies Said

News Snippets

  • Government data placed in Parliament shows a sharp decline in job creation under its flagship employment generation schemes
  • The government is working to amend the Aadhar Act to make it possible for the Aadhar to be linked with the Voter's ID. Election Commission will simultaneously be empowered to link the two
  • Tapas Pal, former TMC MP, dies of cardiac arrest in Mumbai. He was questioned for his alleged involvement in the Rose Valley scam and gained notoriety for his rape remark in 2014.
  • Bypoll to panchayats in J&K, scheduled for March in eight phases, postponed due to security concerns.
  • Supreme Court says that overhead power transmission lines going through the Desert National Park in Jaisalmer in Rajasthan must go underground to save the Great Indian Bustard and the Lesser Florican
  • Pakistan not placed in FAFT blacklist but kept on the grey list with warning
  • The government is expected to announce duty cuts and other measures to combat business disruption due to coronavirus outbreak in China
  • South-East Asia loses its charm as a tourist destination after the coronavirus outbreak in China, airfares dip to new lows
  • DMK leader RS Bharathi says media is running like the red light area in Mumbai
  • A Delhi court issues fresh warrants for the hanging of the Nirbhaya convicts. Fixes the date for March 3
  • Supreme Court appoints a mediation team to ask Shaheen Bagh protestors to avoid blocking the road and shift to another venue
  • Supreme Court says peaceful protests cannot be denied in a democracy but also says that a balance must be struck as protestors cannot be allowed to block roads
  • Telcos pay part of their dues for AGR after the bashing from the Supreme Court
  • Debbie Abrahams, a Labour MP from UK, who was critical of India's action in Kashmir, not allowed to enter India. She was deported to Dubai from the Delhi airport
  • Sidharth Shukla wins Big Boss 13
Former principal secretary to PM Modi, Nripendra Mishra, appointed to head the temple committee of the Ram Janambhoomi Teertha Kshetra Trust
oppn parties
JNU Violence: What The English Language Dailies Said

By admin
First publised on 2020-01-07 13:20:29

About the Author

Sunil Garodia By our team of in-house writers.

India Commentary brings to its readers a cross section of the editorials on the violence at the JNU that appeared in English language dailies across the nation. The common thread in all these editorials was that it was a vile and brutal attack, the JNU was targeted, the attack was premeditated and the police did nothing to prevent it. The editors were also on the same page to demand strict and fast action against the perpetrators. Read on.

 

The Statesman  https://epaper.thestatesman.com/c/47715097

The Economic Times https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/blogs/et-editorials/violence-such-as-at-jnu-not-acceptable/

Indian Express https://indianexpress.com/article/opinion/editorials/jnu-attack-violence-abvp-jnusu-6203213/

The Hindu https://www.thehindu.com/opinion/editorial/the-mask-of-anarchy-on-jnu-violence/article30496604.ece

The Times of India https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/blogs/toi-editorials/unmask-this-students-fearing-violence-have-recently-fled-three-universities-of-national-importance-why/

The Pioneer https://www.dailypioneer.com/2020/columnists/night-of-broken-glass.html

The Hindustan Times https://epaper.hindustantimes.com/Home/ShareArticle?OrgId=768e44fa&imageview=0

The Tribune https://www.tribuneindia.com/news/jnu-vandalised-22375

Deccan Chronicle https://www.deccanchronicle.com/opinion/dc-comment/070120/vile-attack-on-jnu-is-part-of-a-pattern.html

Deccan Herald https://www.deccanherald.com/opinion/first-edit/descent-into-barbarism-791973.html